Roll With It: Gahanna Ohio’s Sushi Hot Spots

Standard

I’m on a quest for the perfect Shrimp Tempura Roll.  I’m sort of a newbie to the sushi world.  I’m taking baby steps. I’ve graduated from California Rolls and am happily settled in (for the time being) with my Shrimp Tempura rolls. Only I’ve discovered they differ quite a bit from one restaurant to the next.  So, when I started working in Gahanna a year ago, I decided to check out the local sushi restaurants as part of my quest. Over the past few months, I’ve drafted a few business friends to join me in my sushi lunch adventures. Here are a few Gahanna gems:

Gahanna Ohio Sushi

  • Mr Sushi. 1127 N. Hamilton Rd. Gahanna, OH 43230 614/473-1028 www.mrsushicol.com
    I was familiar with Mr. Sushi having dined at the Dublin location on many occasions. Mr. Sushi offers great lunch specials between 11 a.m.-2 p.m. M-F, most under $10. My favorite special includes a bowl of Miso soup, house salad and two rolls for just $8.95. (Dine in only.) Add a little tea and all is right in my world. Additional lunch deals include noodle and Teriyaki options. Mr. Sushi features an extensive list of Special Rolls with really fun names like the Resource Roll, Three Musketeers Roll (“One for all and all for one?”), the Engine #6 and the 2004 Roll (a very good year??)  Makes me want to go back for dinner just out of curiosity.

 

Sushi Gahanna Ohio

  • Asian Gourmet & Sushi Bar. 1325 Stoneridge Dr. Gahanna, OH 43230 614/471-8871 www.asiangroumetandsushhibar.com  This restaurant was recommended to me by a friend who lives in the area. (It’s her favorite.)  Two words for this place: Extensive Menu. There really is something for everyone here. In addition to a myriad of sushi roll options, Asian Gourmet offers Korean, Chinese, Thai and vegetarian selections.  My friend ordered the Spicy Coconut Soup and the Buckeye Roll—two signature dishes. She said the soup was a stand-out … a “sweet and hot” concoction made with coconut milk.  Worth noting: Asian Gourmet just launched some new specials on May 1 including weekday Happy Hour deals (3-5 pm Weekdays) featuring Buy-one/Get-one 50% off deals. The same BOGO/50% Sushi Roll deal is available all day on Monday.

 

  • Sushi Gahanna OhioTora. 1330 Hamilton Rd. Gahanna, OH 43230. 614/428-8672. www.restauranttora.com The cool setting and good service at Tora feels a little upscale, making it a great place for a date night. For lunch, my friend and I tried the sushi sampler (Tuna/Salmon, Spicy Tuna Roll). Everything was good!  Tora specialties include the Lobster and Beef Carpaccio roll, the Grilled Snapper, Kalbi Beef (Korean BBQ) and Stone Pots. Coming for dinner? Enjoy a variety of Japanese and domestic beers or a Lychee Martini.  Go between 5-9 pm Tuesdays and enjoy half-price rolls.

How about you? What’s YOUR favorite sushi roll and the best place to find it?

~ Post by Mary Szymkowiak, Communications & Tourism Manager, Gahanna Convention & Visitors Bureau

Leave a Reply

